What is happening?
Accompany will be shut down for all users on February 29, 2020. This includes the Accompany web and iOS apps as well as the Accompany for Gmail extension. Current Accompany users will be able to export their data until March 31, 2020.
When is it happening?
The last day that Accompany will be available is February 29, 2020.
Why is Accompany shutting down?
Since our acquisition by Cisco Systems in May 2018, our focus has been integrating our technology and data platform with Cisco’s Cognitive Collaboration platform. Many features of Accompany are now live as part of the People Insights feature of Webex. Learn more about Cognitive Collaboration here, and the People Insights feature here. We’re excited to continue the work we began at Accompany as part of Cisco’s collaboration suite of products!
Can I continue to use Accompany until the shutdown?
Absolutely! The Accompany web and iOS apps, as well as Accompany for Gmail, will continue to function as normal until the shutdown date of February 29, 2020.
What is happening to Accompany for Gmail?
Accompany for Gmail will cease to function after the shutdown date of February 29, 2020. After that time, we encourage you to uninstall the Accompany for Gmail extension in chrome://extensions since we’re unable to uninstall it for you.
Can you recommend any other tools like Accompany?
Our team has been hard at work integrating the Accompany data platform with Cisco’s Cognitive Collaboration platform. Learn more about Cognitive Collaboration here, and the People Insights feature here.
Will my data be deleted?
Yes. Data will be permanently deleted after March 31, 2020.
If I don’t export my data before the deadline, are you able to retrieve it for me?
No. Data will be permanently deleted after March 31, 2020.
What happens to my data if I don’t export?
We will permanently delete your data after March 31, 2020.
What happens to my data after I export it?
You are able to do what you wish with your data. As with all user data stored on Accompany servers, it will be permanently deleted on March 31, 2020.
How can I export my data?
We’ve created a data exporter that will download a copy of your contacts and all the info you’ve added about them. You can use the exporter from a laptop/desktop computer to download your contacts here.
Can you export my data for me?
Using the Accompany data exporter is easy. If for any reason you’re unable to use the exporter (e.g. your primary email has changed), please get in touch with us at email@example.com and we’ll be happy to help you out. 👍
What’s included in the data?
The export data includes any data you’ve added to Accompany about your contacts as well as a list of those contacts. The files included in the export are a CSV file of your contacts, a vCard file of your contacts, and JSON files with all information about your contacts.
What format is the data in?
Your contacts will be delivered as a CSV file that can be opened in applications such as Google Docs or Microsoft Excel. Your other data, such as insights, interests, and contact notes will be delivered in a JSON file that can be opened in most text editors and can be converted to a CSV with tools such as this one. Read more about how you can view the files in your export in this article.
How can I open the files I’ve exported?
You can learn more about how to view your Accompany data here.
Can I import this data into another product?
You can import the .vcf (vCard) file into apps like Outlook, Contacts (OSX) or Google Contacts. JSON files can be viewed in text editors such TextEdit or Wordpad. Learn more about how you can view the files in your export in this article.
How long do I have to export my data?
Data that isn’t exported by March 31, 2020 will be permanently deleted.
Did I still have an Accompany account?
If you received an email about Accompany shutting down, then yes, you still had an Accompany account! You’re welcome to export your data using our exporter. If you prefer, you can have us permanently delete your data now—just let us know!
Can you delete my data now?
Absolutely! Get in touch with us at firstname.lastname@example.org and we’ll queue your data for deletion. We automatically delete data one week after receiving a deactivation request. Please note that this is not reversible. Once your data has been deleted, we cannot retrieve it for you.